Look out world, she’s been freed…

Ok. I’m now telling the world. Ready? I am no longer a teacher.

I mailed my resignation in today. Yes. I did. It felt great watching the postman leave with the envelopes. It’s wonderful to think that I am free of the stress and work load. My mom said,” Now we will be able to see you on Sundays. You won’t feel guilty about leaving to write lesson plans.” She is so right. I am grateful that God provided a job for me, but it was time to leave the tyranny of the public school system. I’m going to be happier and more grateful for my life and family. Thank you to all my friends who have helped me through the last three years. It’s been tough, but I made it.

And I will post more often. I stopped posting because my school was reading my blog for info on events and Nicole Petersen Designs. Not that I was doing anything wrong, but they think they own their teachers. And by they I mean the TPSD.

Be nice to your child’s teacher. She’s there because she cares. The guilt they make teachers feel is tremendous and wrong. Yes, it is a job. But, wait… You have to spend your own money, free time, and open your heart for this school. But they are the first ones to complain and bitch if you have to put yourself or your family first. I am done. Stick a fork in me done!

Sorry to complain but you have no idea the stress level of trying to educate children is and will continue. And, it’s just going to get worse. I’m done, done, and done.

Now, I will miss the kids and being someone’s teacher. The smiles and light-bulbs going off in their heads will always make my heart swell. Children love their teachers, and we love them back. I know I was the only bright spot in some of their days. School is a safe place for kids, and I will miss being part of a larger circle.

But, not today!!

Here’s a pic my sister posted of both sets of our grandparents. I love it. This is exactly how I remember them. Enjoy.

4 Comments

July 24, 2012 · 6:13

4 responses to “Look out world, she’s been freed…

  1. April—the greatest siter on earth

    Whoop Whoop now you can DRIVE DOWN THE BAYOU to visit your most excellent sister.

  2. I am ALL for reducing stress in your life! That means more time for creating and enjoying life. Congratulations!!

  3. Dolores Falcon

    God bless you and your family, i’m sure this was not an easy choice and thank you for your time as a teacher, i’m always thankful for all the teachers that have taken the time to teach and care for my kids and remember that the support of your love ones will always surround you with love, hope and strength.

  4. I am just visiting your site for the first time as I stubbled upon your booth at the CKC, Lancaster yesterday. Love the variety & style of products you offer. Congrats on your decision to move on from your teaching job. I made a similar choice to leave teaching when my daughter was little & I realized how much time it took to be a good teacher- not to mention all the other frustrations that go along with it. Wishing you happiness in your new found freedom!!

Leave a Reply

